Frizzy Book Review

Shirley Jones Luke
2 min readNov 2, 2022

--

A Hair Story with Multiple Layers

“Frizzy” by Dominican-born writer Claribel Ortega with Illustrations by Armenian-American Rose Bousamra brings this story of a preteen’s struggle with hair and identity to life.

Marlene is a young, Dominican girl living in New York with her mom and extended family. She adores her aunt, a free spirit who wears her hair long and curly. Marlene wants to be able to wear her hair curly but her mother drags her to the salon every Sunday to straighten it.

The only other person who understands her is her best friend. Together they play games, watch videos, and make plans to keep Marlene’s hair curly.

Everyone adores Marlene’s cousin who is having a Quincenara and struts about with olive skin and long flowing hair. Her cousin treats Marlene badly and pressures her to straighten her hair. Marlene feels the pressures from other extended family members such as uncles, aunts, and cousins.

It doesn't help that Marlene is bullied at school about her hair. She can't even find refuge in her favorite class — art. After an incident that takes Marlene to the principal’s office, she is determined to wear her hair her way.

“Frizzy” is a book I can relate to. My own hair journey has been full of twists and turns — from wet curls, press and comb, relaxers, and braids. When I finally found a natural hairstyle to grow my hair, I lost my locs to cancer. Now, I'm trying to regrow my hair and rethink what my hair really means to me. I get Marlene’s struggles.

I recommend “Frizzy” to lovers of comic books, graphic novels, and middle-grade stories. The book is a kaleidoscope of color that perfectly captures Marlene and her family. We are pulled into Marlene’s world as we follow her journey to self-acceptance.

I hope Ortega writes a sequel to “Frizzy.” I want to know how Marlene navigates the anti-blackness in her culture and community. I think it's important for readers to know that anti-blackness is a global issue and impacts many cultures.

I give “Frizzy” 5 out of 5 stars!

--

--

Shirley Jones Luke

Shirley is a poet and writer. Ms. Luke enjoys reading, fashion and travel. She is working on a manuscript of her poems and an essay collection.