August Catch Up

Shirley Jones Luke
2 min readAug 7, 2023

I’m Back and I have a lot to Say

It’s been a while since I’ve been on Medium. July was hectic. I’m trying to build my content creator career. I’ve been really active on Instagram and YouTube. My efforts are paying off — I have a little over 2K followers on Instagram and closing in on 3K followers on Tik Tok. In addition, I’ve been looking to start an e-commerce business on Etsy and learning about affiliate marketing. Medium has been on the back burner.

But Medium was always on my mind. There’s been a lot of news happening during the summer and I have plenty to say about it. Everything from the recent Supreme Court decisions to the brawl in Montgomery, Alabama. There is much I have to say about the shenanigans going on in this country.

In addition to building multiple streams of income, I’ve also been working a part-time educator gig and creating dopamine experiences for myself. What are dopamine experiences? Well, I got the idea from one of my besties. She recently moved and wanted to transform her new place. She wanted a home that had dopamine decor — fixtures and furniture that sparked joy.

Her decision to embrace dopamine decor gave me the idea of wanting dopamine experiences. As a shopaholic, I realized I had grown tired of buying clothing, jewelry, and shoes. I have a ton of stuff and recently started purging my home of unwanted items. I’ve been making a weekly trip to the local Goodwill. Slowly, my home is looking less junky. But I still have a long way to go.

So my dopamine experiences will be activities that make memories. So far I’ve taken trips to the beach, gone to the movies, and been to Canobie Lake Park. I’ve also attended concerts and other shows. It’s been fun and I want more experiences. It’s better than spending money on clothing and other stuff.

I’m enjoying saying yes to new experiences. I’m meeting people and making connections. Life is too short to not experience it fully. I want to be happy. Depression has been kicking my butt lately. Fortunately, I have friends that I can reach out to and share my stressors. We only have five months left in the early. Make each day, and each month count!

--

--

Shirley Jones Luke

Shirley is a poet and writer. Ms. Luke enjoys reading, fashion and travel. She is working on a manuscript of her poems and an essay collection.